Proposed cycle routes into Dublin City Centre

Dublin City Centre draft cycle network map

Red: Primary | Blue: Secondry | Purple: Links | Green: Greenways

...I'm sorry to disrupt you while you're reading this article, but without messages like this,'s reader-funded journalism won't survive. With nearly 1/2 million views and 300k readers so-far this year, it's not just people who are dedicated to cycling that this website reaches. However, the number of subscribers is around 0.6% of readers. While having a large gap between readers/subscribers is standard for non-paywall reader-supported journalism, IrishCycle's journalism needs more support. Don't delay, support monthly or yearly today. Now, back to the article...

The map above shows the city centre section alone and the following text describes the full routes. The text is a complete and unedited extract from the draft Greater Dublin Area Cycle Network plan:

From an analysis of cycling demand, 13 primary radial cycle routes have been identified that link the city centre to the seven sectors comprising key suburban areas shown on the following map, as follows:

  • Route 1: Beresford Place to the North East Sector via Amiens Street, North Strand and Fairview;
  • Route 2: Parnell Square to the North Central Sector via Dorset Street and Drumcondra, with variant or alternative routes proposed within the same general corridor;
  • Route 3: Parnell Square to the North Central Sector via Blessington Street, Royal Canal Bank and Phibsborough, where it branches towards Ballymun and Finglas;
  • Route 4: Bolton Street to the North West Sector via King’s Inns, DIT campus in Grangegorman and Old Cabra Road;
  • Route 5: Docklands to the North West Sector along the Liffey Quays to Heuston Station, and then through the Phoenix Park to Castleknock and Blanchardstown;
  • Route 6: Parkgate Street to the West Sector via the River Liffey valley to Chapelizod and Lucan. Joins Route 5 for the connection to the City Centre;
  • Route 7: College Green to the West Sector via Dame Street and Thomas Street;
  • Route 8: Patrick Street to the South West Sector via Cork Street and then through Crumlin, Greenhills and Walkinstown towards the Tallaght and Clondalkin areas with various branches;
  • Route 9: Patrick Street to the South West Sector via Harold’s Cross;
  • Route 10: Camden Street to the South West Sector via Rathmines, Rathgar and Terenure to Rathfarnham;
  • Route 11: Camden Street to the South Central Sector via Ranelagh;
  • Route 12: St. Stephen’s Green to the South East Sector via Leeson Street and Donnybrook; and
  • Route 13: College Green to the South East Sector via Merrion Square and Ballsbridge.

In addition a series of 6 orbital routes have been identified to link the radial corridors and suburban centres around the city. Of these routes, three are considered to merit categorisation as primary routes:

  • Orbital Route 1: following the Grand Canal and Royal Canal around the edge of the City Centre between Harold’s Cross on the south side and Phibsborough on the north side;
  • Orbital Route 4: on the north side from Killester to Ballymun to Finglas; and
  • Orbital Route 5: on the south side from Lucan via Clondalkin, Tallaght and Dundrum to Dun Laoghaire.

...That's the end of the article. Keep scrolling if you want to the comments, but *NEEDS* readers like you to keep it that way. It only requires a small percentage of readers to give a bit each month or every year to keep's journalism open to all. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.