...IrishCycle.com needs YOUR help! Subscribe now for €5 per month or €60 per year, or check out other options.

Second group of councillors and candidates sign up to CyclingForAll.ie

Councillors and local election candidates from Dublin, Cork, Limerick and Kildare are among the second batch of politicians to sign up to CyclingForAll.ie.

The principals of CyclingForAll.ie are Space, Priority, Continuity and quality, Permeability, Contra-flow for cycling, Integration and connectivity and funding for walking and cycling amounting to at least 20% of the national capital transport budget every year.

The councillors to pledge their support include Mayor of the City and County of Limerick Cllr James Collins (Fianna Fáil) based in Limerick City West, Cllr Ciaran Cuffe (Greens) for Dublin North Inner City, Cllr Pádraig McEvoy (independent) for Kildare’s Maynooth Municipal District and Cllr Dermot Looney (Soc Dems) for Templeogue-Terenure in the South Dublin County Council area.
Local election candidates Neasa Hourigan (Greens) for Cabra Glasnevin, Peter Horgan (Labour) for Cork City South East Ward, Oliver Moran (Greens) for Cork City North East and Peter Kavanagh (Greens) for Dublin Mid West.

The first batch to sign-up were: Dublin City Council councillors Patrick Smyth (Fine Gael), Claire Byrne (Greens), and Paul Hand (Independent) and candidate Maria Mulvany (Fine Gael); Fingal councillor Roderic O’Gorman (Greens); Limerick candidates Elisa O’Donovan (Soc Dems) and Brian Leddin (Greens), and Waterford candidate Marc Ó Cathasaigh (Greens).

Contact your local politicians and candidates

Tell your local councillors and your TDs that you want Cycling for All across Ireland with the required design and funding of 20% of the transport budget to back it up. Check if they are signed up at the national list or local list  (these lists will be updated).

If you don’t know your local politicians or need to find their contact details, you can find them via whoismytd.com.

The important thing is to keep it simple, tell them why you value Cycling for All — for TDs and Senators include the link: cyclingforall.ie/tds and for councillors send them cyclingforall.ie/cllrs


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.